momofuku nishi 2nd visit — New York City (5/2016)

NYnishi-18

I had been a few months since my first visit.  Given it was a Sunday night, I had few options, so nishi was just about an automatic pick.  I also knew that some of the menu items would have changed by then.  Even though there is no tasting menu, the chef and I collaborate to come up with a nice sequence of dishes.

For wine with dinner, I went with the Chardonnay from the Margaret River Region of Australia, which I thought was pretty nice.  I liked it better than most California Chardonnays.

The first dish was not on the evening’s menu.  There were some ingredients left from when it was offered on the menu, but not enough to keep it there, so I was able to have it.  This was fluke crudo with grapefruit and orange segments and some balsamic vinegar.  This was a nice palate starter.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

