Uchi — Austin (5/2016)

AustinUchi-6

Just about everyone raves about Uchi, so I decided to give it a try.  While it is generally a sushi restaurant, it does take a modernist approach to the menu.  Plus, they offer a tasting menu.  I secured a reservation through OpenTable.com for an early evening seat at the sushi counter.

Soon after being seated, I was offered a small starting taste of compressed apple with hibiscus.

Despite the range of the wine selection, I opted out of any alcohol and decided just to have the Dragonwell oolong tea with dinner.

You can order a la carte from the menu or just order a series of sushi and sashimi selections from their listings.  I opted for the tasting menu.  With no printed listing, I would be going with whatever they decided to serve and how much.  I just knew the number of courses that would be served.

They started me off with 4 small oysters.  These were served with Japanese celery and micro sorrel.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

