Alo 3rd Visit — Toronto (4/2016)

TorontoAlo-67

I was looking forward to my third visit to Alo since an early spring menu often has chef’s being innovative in what they can do with available ingredients.  I was also very interested in seeing how the menu would continue evolving.  On my first visit, most of the tasting menu consisted of dishes from the a la carte offerings.  This time, the chef told me that only one dish was being offered at both the chef’s counter and at the tables.

They continue to offer a choice of white or dark napkins to use when I sat down.

To start off the meal, I opted for a non-alcoholic beverage – the pear tea and lemon, which went very well with the opening snacks.  I did order wine later, and instead of me just picking the Chablis from the list, they offered to pick something that was open from the wine pairings.  They poured a Grüner Vetliner, which, when I finally got a menu at the end, was not on it.  But it was a good choice for menu.

The first snack was a couple of gougères – fontina cheese puffs with fermented jalapeños and charred onion powder.  This was warm and light.

This was followed by a Vancouver oyster with green apple gelée and a nasturtium.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

