momofuku nishi — New York (2/2016)

NYnishi-10

Momofuku nishi is the newest New York restaurant from the restaurant group.  It is not like ko in that it’s a more casual place, with room for both walk-ins and reservations, and a totally a la carte menu (and no tipping restaurant).  That being said, the chef and one of the sous chefs are well –known to me because they came from ko.  So, despite it not being a tasting menu restaurant, I wanted to give the place a try. 

While I could have tried walking in for a late dinner, I did make a reservation on the momofuku.com website.  Upon arrival, they took me to a counter seat at the bar just outside the kitchen.

I started off picking a few things from the menu.  Since I was unfamiliar with the menu, I wasn’t sure what I might like or how big the portions would be.  I picked the Spanish mackerel tataki, Ceci e Pepe pasta dish, and the shaved winter vegetables. I also ordered a glass of the Australian Chardonnay (2013 Vasse Felix – which was pretty good).

After I placed my order, Chef Josh Pinsky came out and we talked about the menu.  We talked about some other things I might want to try.  He wanted to bring out a few of the other items for me to try, and then we would see how much more I might want to order.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

