Morimoto 2nd Visit — Maui (1/2016)

MauiMorimoto-25

A quick visit to Maui gave me a chance to test out whether Morimoto would indeed prepare me a different Omakase menu upon my return.  It was actually my choice, so I made sure they knew I wanted to give me a different lineup and that I was selecting the upgraded menu.

They didn’t have a Meursault as a special reserve pour this time (only a bottle), so I went with the Puligny-Montrachet.

With the upgraded menu, you receive an amuse bouche.  For this visit, it was crab wrapped with local mango, citrus slices, chili oil and some shiso leaves.  It had a nice crab flavor.

Next up was the same modernist presentation of sashimi.  Last time, it was otoro (tuna belly).  This time it was hamachi (collar and loin of the yellowtail).  The sauces/accoutrements were the same:  nori paste, wasabi, sour cream, guacamole, Maui onion and rice crackers. In the cup was a bit of soy sauce dashi, and to the left of it was a small Japanese fruit called a yamamomo (red bayberry) to have afterwards as a palate refresher.

The next course was scallop carpaccio, served slightly warmed by the hot oil in a ginger garlic yuzu sauce.  On top were some sliced kabocha and mushrooms.  This was sealed with hot olive and sesame oil.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

