Restaurant &samhoud places — Amsterdam (8/2014)

Amsterdam-60samhoud

I found this restaurant online, so I put in on my list. When the opportunity came up for a nice airfare to Amsterdam, I booked a reservation about 3 months in advance.  It is in a building that houses two restaurants.  Downstairs  is &samhoud places streetfood, and upstairs is Restaurant &samhoud places, the Michelin 2-star establishment.  As I decided to stay at the DoubleTree Hotel next to Centraal Station, the restaurant was very convenient (right across the alley from the hotel).  When I arrived at 7:30, I was led upstairs and given the choice of sitting at a table or at a counter looking into the kitchen.  I naturally chose the counter seat (I was the only one dining at the counter for the evening).

They offered several menu options for dining. The standard is the “Inspiration” menu, which is the full tasting menu.  You can also choose a shorter menu, which would be a subset of the full menu.  You can also add one or more premium dishes to supplement the menu.  Finally, they offer an a la carte menu option of different dishes.  I went with the standard full Inspiration tasting menu.

They offered a Riesling by the glass, so I chose that for my wine with the meal.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

