Atera 2nd Visit — New York City (9/2013)

NYAtera-47

I first visited Atera about 14 months prior to this visit.  Then, it was relatively new and you could book via OpenTable.com.  Now, it is a 2-star Michelin restaurant, you have to pay in advance (food+tax+gratuity), and it is often difficult to get a seat on the weekend.  The only things you pay for at the end are your beverages.  I decided that since I was going to be working in New York for a week, I could book a dinner during the week.  I ended up booking a late dinner (the 9:30pm seating) on a Thursday night.  I wanted to go back and see how the place had evolved.

I arrived a little early but it was not a problem.  They led me down to the “new” lunge located on a lower level.  It’s a nice cozy area with a bar and lounge seating.  They have a cocktail and short wine list that you can choose from.  I stuck with the water (still or sparkling) that they offered.

The restaurant looked the same as before, with seats arranged around a U-shaped counter with a view of the kitchen area.  They were not fully occupied this evening, with a couple of seats empty.  They sat me in the exact same spot – center with a straight on view of the kitchen.  The vibe seemed different now, as there was 80’s music playing at medium volume.  The overall ambience seemed a little less formal than my prior visit.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

