aramburu — Buenos Aires (10/2012)

BA-82aramburu

 

When I traveled to Buenos Aires last year, I only heard about this restaurant just before leaving.  My hotel tried to make a reservation, but to no avail.  This time, I gave them plenty of advance notice, and was able to secure a slot without a problem The website is entirely in Spanish, so I did not have an easy way to make the reservation myself online.

The restaurant is located in an older, non-tourist area of Buenos Aires.  It is a small restaurant, with the outside painted very colorfully.  It you weren’t looking for it, you might even miss it.  The food is local cuisine using modern (i.e., some molecular cuisine techniques). As is the case in Buenos Aires, dining is later in the evening (by US standards).  They open at 9:00 pm and I was almost the first person in the door.  Despite the website, several of the service staff spoke English.

There is no menu as it is a set tasting menu.  They did ask about allergies and strong preferences.  I opted out of any beef, but said I was totally open to anything else.  They said I could sit anywhere, including at a bar table right in front of the huge kitchen window (which is what I took). I saw them use the window to check on the status of diners so they know how to time the next dish to serve.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

