Restaurant Eve — Alexandria, VA (8/2012)

RestEveAlex-14

 

A friend of mine recently mentioned this restaurant as a newfound discovery and that I had to add it to my list.  As luck would have it, I happened to have a trip to Washington, DC on the agenda, so I did a little research and ended up booking a table in the Chef’s Tasting Room.  There is also a section of the restaurant called The Bistro, where one can order à la carte.  Both areas can be booked online off of the restaurant’s website.

In The Tasting Room, there are a few different ways to order.  You can order off of a presented 5-course menu list, where there are around five selections under each category.  You can also just tell them that you would like to order a 5-, 7-, or 9-course tasting menu without selecting anything, and they will just bring out the dishes.  They do ask if you have any allergies or food preferences (I had stated my preferences not to have beef, pork, lamb, or veal when I made the reservation).  They restated my preferences, and we went with that for me.  I was dining with a friend, and he had no such restrictions.

While enjoying a nice, dry, French rosé champagne, the restaurant brought a plate of small snacks that included cooked double quail egg with caviar, salted cracker with salmon mousse, and a meringue filled with a slightly sweet creamy cheese.

For the full write-up, click here.

Leave a Reply

